A White Van, A Majestic Tree And Some Giant Fruit

Today we were up and out early for a much longer walk than yesterday - it ended up being about four miles. It wasn't cold but it was very blustery.
After the recent heavy rainfall all the paths were pretty muddy but we ploughed on determined to get our first decent walk of the New Year in and get some images for blip.
After heading past farmers' fields and some narrow and even muddier footpaths we eventually came out at East Malling Research Centre - where I knew I could get a shot of the majestic tree shown in my main image. The globe like structures in the branches are actually a parasitic plant - possibly mistletoe - and they look wonderfully strange against that glowering sky. I still wasn't happy with my composition as I thought it needed something else, which is when the white van came into view as it turned a nearby corner and helped add a sense of scale. Bingo! The final touch I was looking for!
My extra is a hoarding for a neighbouring fruit farm that we passed earlier in our walk. I just like the combination of the giant fruit appearing to be held back behind a chain link fence with the curves of the polytunnels in the background. It looked like they were amassing for an attempted breakout!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.