Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I had a wee card from the postman saying there was a parcel at the Post  Office. The collection point is just up the road, so no bother. There was a queue because the first person was phoning a friend asking about the parcel she was picking up for her, which could not be found. Five of us in the queue were rolling our eyes at each other as the conversation went on rather too long. When it eventually came to my turn, I was quick. Because I was at the wrong place! It was the Post Office away along the road. Grrrr!

Fortunately a bus was just coming. I got to the other PO and there was a big sign in the PO part of the shop saying ‘CLOSED’. You could post and buy stamps at the other counter, but not collect parcels. The chap took pity on me and got it for me. I asked why it had come to this Post Office, never having done that before. 
They’re Royal Mail. We’re ParcelForce.’ Helpful…

Actually, it was a pair of shoes I’d bought when I had my flurry in town ages ago. I was beginning to worry that they were lost. Anyway, I’ve had them on all evening, and I think they might be keepers…

Elizabeth took Archie out, and the rain of the morning had disappeared and it was quite a nice day. We were going into town for a steak (and chips) at a restaurant that we get tempting email offers on. Two courses for £12.95 sounded too good to miss! But, in my excitement, I hadn’t read the other bit - Monday to Friday… but we had a pleasant meal anyway, though no red meat, which is not a bad thing…(Extra)

I crossed the road and came home (bus in 2 minutes) but JR went looking for new trainers. She found them. So we’re both sitting with our new shoes on.

I watched Professor Hannah Fry’s programme on the technology of trainers. Fascinating, as are all her programmes in that series (The Secret Genius of Modern Life).

Elizabeth brought Archie home, exercised, tired, hungry and bathed, and confirmed that she will be able to look after him when we go to Verona in June. YAY!

Photo by Elizabeth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.