KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Puppy Prep!

Kongs and balls, collar,
brush, treat pouch, lead and tug toy.
And of course.. poo bags!

It's all getting very real here now.  We're away tomorrow night and collecting the dog on the way home on Sunday morning.  The crate and den are all set up with bed and blankets, food/water bowls etc and this is the pile of random stuff. I'm sure we've bought some stuff we won't need and there will be lots of things we've overlooked!   We'll figure it all out as we go along.  We currently have seven books on dogs, puppies and poodles that Ben and I are pouring over.  Ask me anything!!  I'm master of the theory... but clueless in practice :-D
Ben had a good day at school but had a really bad journey home from school.  He was anxious about what our hotel room number would be for tomorrow night, I have already rung them once and they told me they can't know until the day.. but today he took his seatbelt off in the car and lunged for the steering wheel whilst I was driving, shouting for me to ring them again.  It's a behaviour we've seen before, it's so worrying and upsetting both in the moment and also in terms of how it makes me fret about the future.  He's had an awful lot going on with going back to school this week, a new timetable, the birthday trip looming and the puppy coming.  So we just have to be patient whilst he absorbs everything.  I might stay off the motorway for now though :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.