Memories

Technology allows the creases and damage to be removed from this old photograph, it also allows it to be colourised.
These are my maternal grandparents, “Little Nan & Granddad”, Amelia and George Fry. It was taken at Littlehampton around 1960, maybe a little earlier. It’s a fascinating snap of history, the way my grandfather is dressed is how he would have spent the time on the beach, maybe removed his jacket and hat, loosened his tie but that’s about it.
For those who have followed my ‘Blips’ for a while this is the grandfather who owned the two pocket watches of previous Blips.
I spent my early years with them, living around fifty meters from the Thames at Walton-on-Thames, just around the corner from the Vickers factory which became an ‘Airfix’ model factory, for those into toys.
George Fry, known as “Titch” was a skilled carpenter but worked as a timber delivery man using a horse and cart, I remember vividly sitting up next to him as we trotted around Walton.
Mille, as my grandmother was known, worked in a ‘high end’ tailors, I remember sitting on the floor at their home with their budgies, out of their cage, sitting on my legs eating their seeds.

Happy Memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.