Laura's 30th

Had a chat with Audrey this morning. It went like this, "Audrey, I have a few things I need to do today and they might interfere with your naps and feeds but it would be great if you could just fit round them". I swear she nodded.

And do you know what? She was an angel.

I ran errands, cleaned the house, did some washing and she played happily, even napping on cue so I could make some lunch and watch my favourite TV show in peace.

Then we jumped in the car and drove to Nutters in Rochdale for afternoon tea with my sister for her thirtieth birthday (see pic). It was special and a great way to spend a rainy Tuesday.

On the way back, we drove back through the city and realised that if we waited another half hour we could pick my husband up from his London train. But I had a dilemma. It was Audrey's teatime and if we waited another half hour, things could get tricky. So I made a decision (based on my agreement with her this morning) to risk it.

And it was so worth it. The station was bustling with people on their way home and Audrey absolutely loved it. She kept making eye contact with strangers and smiling (or pointing at them, her latest thing). We found out which platform my husband was coming in on and waited for him as everyone piled off the train. The look on his face when he saw us was brilliant and Audrey was beside herself that her Dad had emerged through the sea of faces.

Audrey, I owe you one for today. It was up there in one of my favourite days with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.