Not reading again !

Yes, Suki.
I’ve got some very good books and your Dreamie toys are filled anyway.

I’ve always been passionate about libraries. Yes, I lapsed quite a bit while I was working but since I’ve retired, and particularly since lockdown, I’ve grown to appreciate them even more.

A writer that my friends and I found really excellent is Chris Hammer. He’s Australian, a former investigative journalist and he tells a good tale. If you haven’t discovered him yet, may I suggest you read the novels in the order in which they were published. His first was “Scrublands”….

His latest is “Dead Man’s Creek”, pictured here. I noticed in The Times that it had just been published. My friend let me know that she’d ordered it from her library. Good idea, I thought, so I tried too. Yesterday I got an email saying it had arrived.

When Andy Murray had finally finished, I went up to collect it. They charge 50p (I’m happy with that) and I had to pay for a replacement library card…..

We are so lucky to have a library service, even though their budgets are stretched and many villages have had to take over the running, as volunteers. 

Now, back to the latest Strike novel which is far too heavy to take on holiday…….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.