KateBushIsCool

By KateBushIsCool

The Royal Festival Hall

I love this place so much. You can just hang out at the Royal Festival Hall and still have a great time and it's free! My folks came down for a bit (all spontaneous again)and met George and I there. We had lunch and then hung out but we were probably only together for about two hours at the most. My parents are like this chaotic whirlwind when they visit. Really lovely to see them, though.

My mum was worried about my dad's 'concave' back in the end so they had to go home early. From what I have observed, he's had a convex back for the last twenty years and stooped like nobody's business so I don't know how it's suddenly flipped the other way. My mum was a nurse so she always has some funny way of describing medical conditions. That might just be my mum, though, and absolutely nothing to do with her nurse training. I'd say it's more a problem with his knees and overly bending them so when he's walked too much (which really isn't much at all) he gets tired and he somehow leans back - thus the concave look.

Anyway, they got a taxi to London Bridge so George and I stayed at the Royal Albert Hall for a while longer. Much of that was just George playing with all the toys in the gift shop and reading all the books in Foyles. This photo is from one of those amazing old powder rooms next to the ladies loos. They have ash trays built into the ledge by the mirrors and I always imagine beautiful perfumed ladies from the 50s and 60s re-applying their make up in these rooms and smoking their long cigarettes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.