KateBushIsCool

By KateBushIsCool

Borough Market

Today I had the day off work (as holiday) and it felt so good to drop George off at his child minder's house and then not have to go to bloody work afterwards. I did have something to do though...an exam! It was the first kind of sit-down test that I had done in almost ten years and I hadn't done a sod of preparation for it. But then, you couldn't really prepare for it (apart from know a bit more about Politicians, as I found out). Oh, never mind.

It was a pre-entry test to study a fast-track NCTJ diploma course (basically the qualification most journalists need). I'd been toying with the idea of getting another qualification under my belt and I thought this might give me a better understanding of PR from the journalists side of things. The test included a long piece of writing which was littered with grammatical and spelling mistakes and this you had to correct. You also had to write your own news story based on quotes you'd been given. Then there were some general questions on news but I was terrible at questions on sport and politics. One question was 'Who is Angela Merkel' and I drew a complete blank. I knew the name but I got confused with that sexy spy woman who was in the news a couple of years ago so I wrote 'spy'. It made me actually laugh out loud because I knew it was a ridiculous answer and they'd think I was a complete idiot for thinking it. Later, I did cross it out and change it for 'politician' or 'MP' or something general.

Anyway, I learnt later that I did actually pass the exam and had been accepted onto the course. But it would cost me over £3k in fees and I wouldn't be able to get any financial help for it; plus it's not actually vital for what I want to do so I decided against it.

On my way home I decided to have a walk around Borough Market and the place was buzzing. It was a lovely and sunny lunchtime and everyone was out on the street drinking pints or wheat grass. I ended up meeting Elliot and we had a long walk around London, ending up in Peckham. Honestly, we walked miles. I was knackered too and hadn't had lunch so the pint and packet of crisps at the end were so incredibly welcome. It was quite an unusual and unexpected day, really. The walk could have been though some prettier parts of London but never mind; it wasn't exactly planned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.