Mark Radcliffe and Company

"Join BBC Radio’s Mark Radcliffe and friends (and foes) for a genial meander through twenty-five years of music by his previous bands: The Family Mahone, Foes and Galleon Blast.


The Mahones played their first gig in 1998 since when Mark and his largely Chester-based musical chums have plied their dubious trade in several line-ups which, in all honesty, have all been quite similar.


This performance picks out songs from their less-than-illustrious back catalogue for a relaxed, age-appropriate re-appraisal."

Despite the self-depreciating synopsis, I rather fancied this and, happily, so did my old university friend, Pete, who I saw for the first time in thirty-four years, last year.

Thus, we enjoyed a couple of beers and a catch-up before going through to the gig. It was, in its way, rather reminiscent of Bruce Springsteen's tour - many, many, years ago - supporting his album 'We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions', consisting of a very boisterous strand of folk music.

My friend, Tony, took me to see that tour, at a time when I wasn't getting to many gigs. I remember, the chap he bought the tickets from on eBay, threw in two tickets to see Manchester United playing at home, so we had quite an unusual day out.

And although I wasn't a huge Springsteen fan, I really enjoyed the gig. It wasn't just that the music and band were great, it was also down to how much they were clearly enjoying themselves on stage. There was a similar vibe from Radcliffe and his band, this evening, having a great time, as did Pete and I.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.