Apple tax

In the music room, I have a Mac Pro dating back to 2013, which I bought off eBay a few years ago. To be honest, whilst it was fine for work and browsing the web, it's not really up to the job of running my music software; the 'spinning wheel' appears quite frequently.

Lately, I've been idly looking at the new iMacs that came out sometime in 2020. The basic spec on them is actually very good, apart from the RAM, which is a measly 8GB. Ideally, I'd want 64GB but that's an additional £1,000. Indeed, if you want to push the boat out and go up to 128GB, then that's an extra £2,600.

Then I remembered my brother telling me that you can upgrade the RAM yourself, so I checked the price of the appropriate RAM on the Crucial Memory website. It's about £500 for128GB.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.