flowering

Every year at about this time of year, as well as the snowdrops, I  notice the appearance of a different kind of white flower alongside the walls of the old Irongray manse. The plants start as small green ball-shaped bud and then open to show bracts of small white flowers. The leaves come later. I've passed by these flowers a zillion times, but on my walk this morning I finally got around to looking them up...

They are White Butterbur (Petasites albus) which is  native to mainland Europe and mountainous south-west Asia, but has been present in the UK since 1683 when it was imported for ornamental purposes.  White butterbur seems to like the climate of north-east Scotland and is obviously also quite happy here. The name butterbur allegedly comes from a practice of wrapping butter in the large leaves of the plant to keep the butter clean and to help it last. 


Mystery solved :-)


Other than that walk, I've been at home for most of the day, doing housework and cooking. I did go out after tea, to drumming, which was good fun, as always.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.