Great Langdale

I thought we’d nip off to Great Langdale for a couple of nights to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary (tomorrow).

Our adventure began in Grasmere with the purchase of some Sarah Nelson gingerbread.
Blood orange tea with a cheese scone for me at Baldrys Tearoom. Tom had coffee and vegan flapjack.
We pottered round the village and the Heaton Cooper gallery. The lake was very grey and dull.

We decided not to walk round the lake and headed off to Chester’s by the River at Skelwith Bridge. Their bakery is fantastic, so many vegan choices for Tom. He chose a “Chicken” pasty made with Jack fruit and mushrooms. He said it was delicious. I had a nibble of Bakewell slice and saved the rest for later, I was still full of cheese scone.

Blea tarn was our next port of call. I’d been there as a 12 year old. Our school had a residential centre at Little Langdale., and I have many fond memories of being there.
You can see the Langdale Pikes peeping through at the back of the photo.

Finally I drove along a narrow steep road peppered with potholes down into Great Langdale. The views were stunning.

We’ve checked in to the New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. And are currently waiting to go to the bar for pre dinner drinks. The hotel staff left red roses and chocolates in our room. I am touched by their thoughtfulness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.