A soaking Anniversary

We headed up to Stickle Tarn via Stickle Ghyll. The ghyll is very picturesque with lots of cascades and dipping pools.

The path was rocky and slippery. There were also parts that needed to be scrambled up. I nearly turned back near the top when we had to cross the river by hopping from boulder to boulder! I made it with the help and encouragement from a young man.

The tarn itself was a good size with Pavey Arc, centre and Harrison Stickle to the left, see extra. Both Langdale pikes that I’d always wanted to conquer. However, the weather was bad, in fact I could hardly see for the rain, plus it’s a long way round.

We ate a bit of lunch prepared by the hotel. Mine was ok but Toms vegan lunch was disappointing. They’d given home salad with dressing in a container with no fork.

The return was slow but I seemed to hop back over the river and slide down the scrambling bits ok. My left knee gave way but I can’t complain. I swear there was more water in the river on the way back.
We were soaked when we arrived at the but I’m glad we did it.

I’m having a cuppa with done Sarah Nelson gingerbread now. Toms having a snooze. Roll on pre dinner Prosecco.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.