Worryingly early heron activity

It’s only just February and the herons were hard at work, building their nests. It struck me as soon as I spotted them, and on my way out, I spoke with one of the RSPB volunteers who said how worried they are. If there is a serious frosty period in March, all this hard work could be destroyed. 

A fabulous sparkly morning and I walked a little further than I’d intended. Other visitors were friendly and helpful. Three serious photographers brought me into their circle to appreciate a brambling and I joined a charming lady listening to a song thrush, but neither of us could see the bird ! 

For all that, the most activity seemed to be at the Aston Villa training ground next door. Yesterday’s defeat by Leicester has clearly sparked some action……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.