Fantastic, fantastic day

I saw baboons!! Apparently they are everywhere and there are signs everywhere warning you not to feed them. They will happily grab food from you, like seagulls, they will happily break into your car if you leave the windows open. My friend stopped the car so I could run out and photograph the baboon with a baby. 

I saw WILD ostriches. I saw dasi. I saw seals! I saw a black bird with underwings that were orange. I saw a mouse - but not in my hotel or inside any building. I saw black lizards. 

I met an amazing 15 year old. She taught herself Japanese. She is teaching herself sign language. She is already an accomplished artist. She dances. She’s funny. As a wee child she decided to get herself adopted by my friend’s sister. Every time the woman would come around she’d run up to her and call her mama until she finally adopted her. She did an incredible job picking a family. 

I did see the botanical garden. Kate, if your budget allows I think your leadership should visit some of the world’s top botanical gardens as part of your planning process. I particularly liked the plants you could touch and then smell. 

It was a touch difficult to handle so much happiness. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.