Grinling Gibbons

We decided to go to Petworth House today to see the Turner’s as Henry hadn’t been there for years and years.  They seem to open different rooms every time I go there and this is the Carved room carved, mainly by yer Grinling Gibbons himself.  I loved this half finished painting Van Dyke of Charles I on his horse who looks as if he is appearing from the mist.   We went into Petworth to get a bit of lunch but there wasn’t much open  - odd - we popped into the antique arcade as we like to do, H found a lovely scarf and I found a little book shelf that I can sit on top of a chest of drawers. I have one already and wanted to find another for the children’s room.  Also a little bronze lustre mug which is gorgeous. 

Drove H to Guildford as the trains are only running from there for ten days. 

Quiet evening prepping for a busy week and watched the first ep of GOLD.  Was questioning how they got that cast for that budget….I enjoyed it but I do find it dispiriting to see shows with almost entirely male casts…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.