ThuleBurley Bike Frankencarrier

The "ThuleBurley Bike Frankencarrier" lives!

Until now Kathy and I have not had a means to transport this bike other than on its own two wheels.

When loaded on the carrier the majority of weight from the Burley is over the rearmost cantilevered section of the carrier. The three strips of aluminum stock I built the extension from are a bit too flexible. The resulting wiggle in the middle is unacceptable thus required stiffening from an I-beam or similar structural member.

What I came up with to stiffen the middle section temporarily is a piece of PVC pipe with a wood strip on the bottom held together with four hose clamps around all the pieces.

I bet a simple piece of box section square tube replacing the bottom extension strut will do the job.

Quite an enjoyable project.

The Burley bike itself looks weirder than ever up on the roof of the car without it's seat.

Full frame:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.