NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Storm Otto is heading our way!

I am writing this as Midnight approaches - living up to my Blip name! I don’t think I’ll change now, always been a night owl since childhood.

It’s absolutely wickedly wet, windy and wild - this weather had meant to be coming on Monday but it seems to have arrived early. I hope it doesn’t flare me up even more as stormy weather usually does.

Apparently, this is Storm Otto headed over from Denmark. Hopefully it passes soon. Rain and pain are not the best of friends!

Today, I was in a lot of pain. I managed to sleep well and decided to phone my GP this morning at 10am as I know this is her last working day of the week. 

Like last night, I was completely stiffening up - not just the usual level of morning stiffness that is part of fibromyalgia but a crushing stiffness, particularly in my upper body. I’m pretty tough after twelve years of chronic pain but I have to admit, I felt very frightened and anxious and did the right thing in phoning the surgery.

She was brilliant as usual - I am so glad I transferred GP. She rang me back about half twelve and spent half an hour on the phone with me. Going to try new meds. Please keep your fingers crossed for me that they help!

I rested a lot today as advised by my GP and paced myself. I put a wash on tonight and hung it up to dry which felt like a small win given the pain I am in. I nipped out for five minutes to feed the birds. I really shouldn’t have as I wasn’t too good on my feet but I get so much pleasure from watching them feed. I feel like they’re all my friends :) I find animals and nature so therapeutic.

Texted my friends today, including Rosie. We have agreed to postpone our planned lunch catch up due to the inclement weather and our health. She is still flared up with her ME too.

This afternoon, I did two short online signing lessons - today’s songs were Hallelujah and Never Tear Us Apart. I find singing a fantastic pain distraction and I really needed that today. I did my Duolingo German revision lessons today too - 92% which I was happy enough with.

I saw on the early evening news that people have been tying yellow ribbons of hope for the missing woman, Nicola Bulley. I am continuing to hope and pray that they find her safe and well.

Tonight, I watched Question Time early at 8pm on the BBC iPlayer. I was happy that Lionel Shriver (main Blip) was on the panel tonight as I am a great admirer of her novels.

I read today that Bruce Willis has been diagnosed with frontotemporal dementia. I’m not a particular fan of his but I was very sad to read this. It’s such a cruel illness.

Another sad (but happy) thing I read was that it was Vivienne Westwood’s memorial service today. I was a great admirer of her for her creativity, individuality, fashion design and for her support of PETA and animal rights. 

A great loss but from the photos I saw online, it looked like a beautiful memorial. I enjoyed seeing all the outfits that the guests wore - most wore VW designs :)

Hope you have all had a happy Thursday, I have played a wee bit of catch up with comments, stars and hearts and will continue with this tomorrow if time, energies and pain levels allow xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.