A cup of coffee

This has been a new experience over the last two or so weeks. I have walked up the the Shakespeare North Playhouse between visiting times partly for the exercise, partly to explore Prescot, and partly to relax over a cup of coffee. The latter is something I haven’t done outside home since early 2020, as we had to shield through the pandemic, and to continue after the so called “freedom day” because of J’s vulnerability to infection.,

That’s still the place we’re in. But the Playhouse isn’t a Starbucks or a Costa. It’s very spacious, and I can sit at some distance from anyone else, and confidently take my mask off to drink my coffee. Or eat a piece of cake, although today I successfully avoided temptation.

I suppose the fact it’s so quiet might be a worry, but the Playhouse has only been open 7 months and so hasn’t been discovered by many. It’s issue is going to be drawing in the locals, it’s not got an affluent hinterland.

Tuesdays I’ve discovered is Art Class day. A young lady leads two groups, each drawing a portrait of a model. Each of the two models look like members of the group, maybe they take it in turns each week. They’re all having a lot of fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.