The Third Place

I had taken today off work as I knew I'd be late home last night, but I did book some fitness activities :-) The classes I wanted to go to fill up so quickly that apparently people set their alarm clocks for 6am 3 days beforehand, when booking opens, so I decided to do the same. On Tuesday I was awake just before 6, and logged onto the app. I got a place, and by 6.01, the classes were full! So this morning it was Stretch and Flex, a relaxing sauna and then Aquaerobics.

Sarah was telling me last week about the Third Place theory, a Third Place being somewhere which isn't home or work but "where you relax in public, where you encounter familiar faces and make new acquaintances." DG1 has become one of my Third Places as well as a place to get fit. As usual, there was interesting conversation in the sauna. Topics ranged from 15 minute cities to a crack opening up across Africa, train journeys, and being listened to by Google. Fascinating stuff.

The weekly shop got done - I bought the last pepper in Lidl - and the post office visited. At home, D and I sat and had a cup of tea outside on the bench for the first time this year (we were well wrapped up!). I read my book for a bit and then took Jess for a swim; maybe this is her Third Place?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.