Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A bit of pink on a dreich day. But not blossom!

Well, I dreamt all night I was zooming about in one of Baz Luhrmann's productions. In the Great Grate Gatsby, there were many many scenes where he zoomed in to a person in a New York street, say, from just about up in space. I was thankful to waken up.

The rain of yesterday has passed. To be replace by that Edinburgh phenomenon, the haar (though, to be fair, I think it's all down the east coast). The haar is thick pea-souper of a wet mist. A bit like being in shower room with no extractor fan. And without the warmth. I popped down to check on the poor blossom in the Meadows, which was at its best almost a month earlier last year.

There was a wee girl in a pink cycling helmet and pink top playing around in the puddles with her dad. 'That would be nice if she could play a little nearer to the trees,' I thought.... I asked the dad if I could take some photos of her ('new camera', etc).

He was most obliging.
'Tallulah, come and stand in this puddle while the nice lady takes your photo...'

Was Tallulah as obliging as he her dad? Was she 'eckaslike!

She took off, wailing like a banshee! Every time I pointed the camera at her, she took off in another direction, wailing even louder. I gave up and went into the Pavilion for a cuppa. I'm glad I don't usually have that effect when I point my camera at folk!

Tallulah soon forgot about me and went and stood in various puddles, with her ball or her scooter. Funny how kids like to stand in puddles.

'Case Histories' is on TV tonight. I might be in it! Last year I was walking along the terrace in Victoria Street, having spotted lights and cameras, I went for a nosy. I stopped and looked across to the bay window where the lights were shining. A man sat with his back to the window, and the camera pointing at him. I was directly opposite, trying to peer in, when a man at the other end of the terrace in a hi-viz jacket yelled, 'Oi! Keep walking!'

Or do you think they'll cut that shot?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.