Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sunshine and blossom!

The day dawned with the haar still with us, but soon cleared. I set off for lunch in my usual 'spring' attire (hat, scarf, warm jacket) and by the time I came back I had divested of all of them - so you know it must have been pretty warm!

Popped the car into the garage for its MOT. We hoped there was nothing to do, as it had cost us £600 last time it was in a few months ago!

They rang up.
'Your car has failed its MOT.'

I felt like a distressed parent being told my offspring had failed some vital exam.

'The spring on the passenger side is broken. That will be £83, fitted. You will need to replace both otherwise the car will be unbalanced. That's £166. Plus the MOT, that's £203, thanks.'

It's a relatively new car. The broken spring could be/must be caused by the potholes in Edinburgh's roads, even though we both generally try to avoid them. I think a letter to the Council will be sent this week...

We went to investigate the new pizza restaurant in Morningside. It's in an old church and it's a wonderful place, complete with old organ. Apart from the muzak, which I think was a Baz Luhrmann soundtrack...

The pizza I had was, disappointingly, very soggy and tasteless. I ploughed through it, thinking that all those calories just wasn't worth it. In fact, I did leave a bit. I told the waiter it was soggy-bottomed, and he came back and said they wouldn't charge for it. Can't say fairer than that. Good PR! The huge salad JR looked epic. I thought I could never just have a salad in a pizza restaurant. But this one looked tempting!

However, I cheered up considerably when I walked on down to the Meadows and the blossom (at last) was in sunshine (at last). This lady must have got a good shot!

Wonder if she was a blipper...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.