MerlotsDad

By MerlotsDad

We Can Rebuild Him !

So its true - my worst fears have been realised - I have broken my 5th metatarsal.
If your eyes are good you can see it in the picture, if not take my word for it.

We have just returned from A&E at Stoke Mandeville with a Beckham Boot & the promise of a referral to an orthopaedic surgeon in the next few days. The worst thing about it is that I don't remember doing it. The doc assures me that it is a new break & I have done it recently ! It may take as long as 8 weeks to mend but we'll see.

What a lovely day to spend 4hrs in A&E; man was it busy too with all manner of injuries coming through the door. One chap got fed up of waiting & went home having sliced one of his fingers with a circular saw. It didn't look too bad he was going home to bandage it himself ! I did offer Carol's service as she is pretty nifty with a needle if he needed it stitched. It's weird how you try to diagnose as they come through the door - thought his was a DIY injury & he confirmed it when I asked. One young girl had gone down a drain in her high heels & her ankle was swollen, however it looked to me like a bad sprain rather than a break....

Happy days ahead for my poor darling wife who will be waiting on me hand foot & finger, I also sense a few boring run of the mill blips in the next few days too !

Lovely sunny day this afternoon after a cloudy start.

Finally I can't fault the service I received at the hospital (despite the wait). The chap I saw listened & acted on what I said & I can't thank him enough for for all his help in making me so much more comfortable - we are so lucky to have a National Health Service such as ours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.