Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum

What a fantastic place.  We walked around the park in almost freezing sunshine - the highlights being crocuses, blossoms, and wonderful clear light.  Then met our friends at the art gallery.  So hard to choose what to show.  In the end I’ve put- a hair slide from the Mackintosh and Glasgow design room. It’s a style that southerners like me most associate with here, I think.  I love the colours, and the delicate doves. The first extra is of my friends camera, which is nearly 100 years old.  She has been researching a woman photographer who used this type of camera - more about this tomorrow.  In the lens you can see a bit of the ceiling of the grand hall in the museum. And the second extra is my most favourite of all  time artist, Matisse. One of the many pleasing aspects of the gallery is the write ups  next to each painting, not pretentious twaddle that you see some places, but something accessible that helps you see more. The plaque next to this one says “Matisse believed the purpose of painting was to communicate joy and happiness. He wanted the viewer to notice what was around them, and by contrasting shapes and colours, he brings a fresh viewpoint to everyday things”. So I think he’d probably have been a blipper, had it existed then:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.