God and Country

We got up early so we could get on the road at a reasonable time. I ordered strawberries for everyone from a school fundraiser and the shipment was delayed. Hubby couldn’t pick them up until after 9:00 am. Forgot to do the last load of laundry last night so I also had to finish that before we left. We got on the road at 10:00. Thought I would share some of the sights (going clockwise) from the drive on Maryland roads today. I saw the neatest car with a MD flag wrap but could not get a good shot. Our state flag is really unique. The Patuxent River was beautiful as we rode over the bridge. As you can see, traffic was light for most of the trip. I always love seeing this huge flag when we get to our favorite bakery on our route. We didn’t need to stop today though. It looked like there was a forest fire but we lost sight of it so I am not sure what it was. This tractor trailer passed us with a daily reminder. We saw evidence of the roads being treated for forecasted snow from the time we got to Maryland’s highlands until we got into WV. The photo on the bottom left gives you an idea why I gladly let hubby drive: too many crossroads for me at certain parts of the route. We definitely saw evidence of spring, be it tons of daffodils that were planted along the highway in full bloom or these beautiful pink flowering trees. At 70 mph, I was unable to identify the type of tree. We are about two hours from my sister’s farm including time for a quick stop for dinner. Hope you will find time to enjoy the sights and sounds of our world this coming weekend. Thanks for the visit. Stay safe. “When you go on a road trip, the trip itself becomes part of the story.” - Steve Rushin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.