Grey Heron

I really thought the Heron journey had reached the end of the line this morning. There were a bunch of dog walkers at the picnic area with their dogs running all over the place (they used to come before but had more control of their dogs). They chatting then would turn and shouti for their dogs to behave then go back to chatting again. There were no herons in sight, nor crows for that matter. I walked all the way round the loch and could see nothing. I was actually looking for something else for today's blip. Eventually the dog owners started to leave but there were still no heron. I was really just about to head off when the young female from yesterday flew over. I started feeding her,  then she was joined by the adult male and finally the young male. They were surprisingly tolerant and let me feed them all one after the other. I do not know how long they will keep coming over though, as the noise, and the dogs obviously scare them. We will just need to wait and see. On my way back the crows appeared from where they had been hiding and they got a feed as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.