Changing Room

Today's the day ....................... to play football

When my friend Stella asked me a few weeks ago whether I would like to go with her to play football - I really thought she was joking.

She was deadly serious as it turned out.  She had gone in the past, although she hadn't been for a while.  Now, she wanted to improve her fitness level and according to her, this was just the way to do it.  Eventually (!) I agreed to at least come and see what it was all about - and so today was the day when I found myself at St Cuthbert Wanderers (known locally as The Saints) Football Club in Kirkcudbright, wondering what on earth I'd let myself in for?!

Before we go any further, I have to say that we're talking Walking Football  here, or as it says in the blurb - 'a slower-paced version of the beautiful game for adults over 50'.  And - it was absolutely brilliant.  It was all done properly with warm-up exercises before we started, practice passing, rules, tactics, health & safety and the rest.  Then we had an actual game - and blow me, I scored a goal.

The best thing, of course, was the friendly gang of people who were there - either to look after us or to join in with the fun.  I amazed myself with how much I could do - and how much I enjoyed it.  It really could become a regular feature in my week ........................!     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.