Dribs and Drabs of 2014

By RodgerEvans01

Killdeer encounter.

Yesterday I headed to a gypsum outcropping to find a rare orchid that is reported to be in flower. I found it, and should blip it, but the encounter with a killdeer mama and her offspring win. The orchid pic can be viewed here.

While searching for appropriate Ram's Head Orchid habitat. I came across a female Killdeer doing her "lame wing" dance. Realizing I was near a nest, and knowing how well camouflaged their eggs are, I decided to move away. However as I did her antics became more frantic. I looked down to make sure wasn't near a nest and about 3 feet from where I stood was a chick; no nest.

I took a quick burst with my 70-300 and got the heck out of there. I'm so glad I didn't accidentally do the unthinkable...

PS: This image is a composite of the two birds. The chick was shot at 275mm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.