SweetArt

By SweetArt

Stinky fruit

Ladies and gentlemen, may I introduce you to a VERY smelly fruit called durian. I really am not trying to be obnoxious here or offensive to anyone, but even those who eat it admit it really is quite smelly. It's durian season and we know its arrived as soon as we walk into the supermarket!

In all the time we've been here, I haven't been able to ingest durian in its raw form. I've had durian crisps, but not the real fruit. I don't think I could get past the smell. I've been told that it 'smells like hell but tastes like heaven'!!! Well I guess I'm missing out, and I don't mind, but secretly, I'd really would like to know what heaven 'tastes' like.

Have any of you tried it before?? I took the picture because they looked rather nice and spiky in the display box!


P. S. I wrote my speech first thing this morning, thanks to Welshman in Budapest who prompted me to research and get on with it. Thanks Steve. Now I need to run it past hubby, who knows our family all too well. Wish he'd hurry and get home soon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.