The 'Renkumse Molen' (formerly 'De Hoop'), Renkum

The Renkum Mill.  Can't be any simpler than that.

The rather tight spot it's in can be compared to the tight time frame I had to drive there and actually shoot it.  It is not that old -- 1858.  The streets are still the original narrow ones, so it is quite likely that the entire neighbourhood, including the mills, developed at the same time.  Perhaps it wasn't as crowded then as it is today, or maybe the clump of houses was quite small campared to its size now, and there was a wide area around it with meadows.  Maybe.  I don't think the mill was built after the houses, unless they had to break down some old structures first.  Anyway, the point being that I'm not so happy with mills in crappy spots.  This one looks so hemmed in.

A quiet day, for the most part.

In the course of it, though, mail and WhatsApp from MNL as there'll be a hearing this coming Thursday.  I told the Viking I haven't yet received any invitation to attend via video conferencing, but, for a change, I wouldn't mind as I have a full week at work.  As a result of my observations during the last hearing, I have become even more anxious at the prospect of having to listen again to some formal but nonetheless violent and loud verbal exchanges.

Speaking of work, though, opened my mail later in the evening and came across the bi-weekly update from our dean.  It would appear that Toons is feeling much better and is thinking of slowly returning to work.  This means management will help him get accustomed again to some routine by not dumping everything onto his lap on Day 1 but in digestible bits.  While that is good news for Toons, what will this mean for my current status and position?

Before the hunt, I posted the first exam for my 1st-year classes.  A good feeling because it went well and also because I didn't have to ask anyone's help to navigate on the site.  Thankful for jobs well done, regardless of how ordinary they are.  Yet another thing that I'm thankful for is the fact that I finished Shafak's book -- what a wonderful read it was.  The first time I came across her work was at the airport in Dubai, when I bought one of her books to while away waiting time.  Although I don't need to have her entire ouvre here at home, the five I do have are all treasures.

The new colouring plate is coming along well.  Best is when I can play yoga music while I'm busy with the pencils.  Kitchen duties and some housekeeping the rest of the time.  Thankful most of all for my quiet time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.