Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Spring has sprung :-)

'Tis the equinox. 
Another fresh blue duck-egg lay in wait for me in an improbable location on my ride into work this morning. 
The egg is now in the fridge awaiting the perfect moment to be appreciated.
My first real-estate purchase, almost 40 years ago, was an apartment above a shop – leasehold, no actual ground beneath it.
Twenty years ago I bought a freehold plot in Greece and I remember thinking at the time that my “ownership” of everything within that boundary continued in a cone, all the way to the centre of the Earth. 
How ridiculous!
The apartment I'm currently renting shares a back garden with another nine flats, which is still infinitely more garden than I have had any claim to for the last five years.
The garden has a tree and the tree bears blossom and I am so happy to belong to a tree with blossom.
But how mad it is to imagine that people can own territory.?
It's where wars begin and why dogs resolve their differences by sniffing each other's bums.
Can we please reach the point where anyone wishing to be a state leader understands that they must drop their kaks and sniff each other's butt-holes. 
I think we'd reach a point of diplomatic honesty far more quickly if those were the rules.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.