The Farrier

I just happened to be on a croft today when Robin the farrier was there.

I have known Robin for a long time....... since I came here to work in 1984. I have not seen him for about 7 years and it was really great to catch up and reminisce.

I remember ( and I actually told him today) how....as a newly qualified large animal vet.....he used to scare the living daylights out of me!! He has a gruff voice and a beard and probably knows more about horses limbs and how they move than I will ever know. I have relied on his expertise to help with a horse's gait on many occasions! He is an excellent farrier and a very usesful friend for a vet!

Here he is shoeing Tango. Tango tried to flex his muscles and act up a bit....but he was no match for Robin! At this point the shoes were on and he was putty in his hands!

I stayed on the croft much longer than I intended because it was " good crack" and who knows how long it will be until I see him again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.