Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Huddersfield A-Z: Greenhead Park

Good grief, today we have had ghastly, grim and grotty weather with gusty gales. This Blip nearly didn't happen, as every time I set off to my designated "G" (my G Spot if you will) it started to hail or sleet or generally precipitate violently.

But if mimi128 can get up at 3am and travel for 20 hours halfway across the world without missing a Blip, then a bit of rain is no excuse for me. Plus it would muck up my plan further into the alphabet!

Greenhead Park; I previously Blipped the War Memorial, but today's Blip shows the newly restored Boating Lake. The park itself opened in 1884, and its close proximity to the town centre makes it very popular for families, joggers, dog walkers, skate-boarders and there is even a beautifully maintained steam train track. There is a big paddling pool, which has been filled ready for this holiday weekend (we didn't sample it) and the former conservatory is now a posh tea-room. At the other end of the park there is still a greasy-spoon where you can get a bacon sarnie and a cuppa for a couple of quid. It's Huddersfield's version of Hyde Park, and this is Huddersfield's Serpentine.

I used up my best park song already, so I will go with Green and Head.

Happy weekend, the sun is going to shine, I promise.

PS - should I have cropped it???



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.