I alone cannot change the world...

...but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.

Beautiful words by Mother Teresa. I was pointed in the direction of this location on a Facebook Page for Edinburgh photographers and I was originally looking to get a silhouette shot of the trees in front of the setting sun, however, when I got to the location this was jumping out at me to be captured. I purposely broke the rules by putting the horizon right at the top of the image but I think it works with this shot and then the addition of ripples required me to find some reasonable sized stones, head to the end of the pier and throw them into the water and then run back to press the shutter release as they were just getting to the edge of the wood.

I think this will be one of my favourite shots of the year and so glad I read the posting this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.