Cygnus

By Cygnus

Botanical watercolour

I started a new art class last night, lead by a ‘proper’ botanical watercolourist, Dr Alison Walker. Her work is so beautiful! When I saw her paintings I despaired of her teaching me anything, as my standard is so far below the exacting requirements for scientific botanical illustration.

However, I think that my laurel leaf does show a little bit of glossy highlighting, so I’m very pleased!

We worked on one leaf for the two hour session; most unlike me as I usually finish anything I’m painting well inside an hour and the get bored! So I must be making some kind of progress.

Unfortunately I’ll miss the class next week, but for a jolly reason as I’m off to Centre Parcs with all the offspring! I’m so looking forward to it.

Now it’s time for BookBuds, an afternoon meeting as that happens to suit everyone this month. We’ve been reading Snap by Belinda Bauer and I thought it was really good!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.