Let’s Get Loud

After some experimentation, and a lot of discussion and deliberation, I’ve decided that the best way to solve the “not loud enough on stage” problem is to buy a new amp combo.
This Markbass model was recommended by several people and should give me all the volume I need. It was a more expensive solution than just buying a bigger powered cab, but I think it’s probably for the best in the long run. It’s also slightly lighter than the cab would have been and there will be less cabling required to connect everything up.
It’s built like the proverbial outhouse, though I have also ordered a cover just to stop it getting marked during transportation. There are a couple of nice little features - a dedicated outlet for a tuner is a neat touch, and the ability to set different volumes for the front of house feed and the main speaker means I can turn up on stage if required without affecting what is coming out of the PA.
First gig will be tomorrow and I’ll see how I feel about the weight once I’ve set up - the venue is up two flights of stairs! I’ll just set a basic sound/tone for the evening and then fine tune it over the next few gigs and any practices.
And if it’s still not loud enough, there is always the option of adding a matching extension cab and unleashing the full 500W the amp is capable of!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.