Preparation

Up early this morning to catch a 7am flight to Auckland. Frosty and cold, but a simply stunning day. As it turns out, all over the country. Lots of great plane photos.

Had 2 meetings, both went well, and then had an afternoon spare. Given that it was a stunningly sunny and calm day in Auckland, I decided to take the afternoon off and seek out some photos. I headed across to the West Coast, to Piha and Karekare, places I haven't been to for years. They haven't changed a great deal, and are still gorgeous.

Spent time on the beach, photographing all sorts of things. Surfers, swimmers, seagulls, sand - all fantastic. Have to admit, I only had my work clothes with me as it was a day trip. So being on the beach in work clothes was slightly weird ;-)

After Piha I headed across to Karekare - you might know it. Jane Campions "The Piano" was filmed here it's stunning, and I realised why I used to love coming here. There were people fishing, and surfing, and in this photo, preparing to surf.

I got lots of great photos today, many visually far more stunning. But I simply love the feeling in this photo.

Then a quick visit to see the folks and out to the airport. Plane delayed, again.
Going to get home at 10pm or so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.