Pontevedra to Caldas de Reis (22.9km)

After a rather unsettled night, we woke early and managed to set off at 7.30am. Early for us and it meant we caught the sunrise. Not that we saw much of the sun today. It was cooler and instead of blue skies we had a mix of occasional sunshine and heavy showers but thankfully not the constant rain we’d feared. We stopped off for coffee and then after several miles, had a late breakfast. Serendipitously as we were leaving the second cafe we bumped into two of our new fellow pilgrim friends, including the one who is a masseuse. My calves were fine today but I seem to have acquired a new, niggling pain on the side of my knee (I’m falling apart!) so luckily a massage helped.
We treated ourselves to a set 3 course lunch once we arrived in Caldas de Reis. It’s a spa town but Mr P and I were too tired to ‘take the waters’. We relaxed in our Pilgrim Rooms all afternoon and then met up with our friends for drinks and tapas (these were superb) in the evening. I’m relieved that I’ve survived another day on the Camino!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.