Croft16

By Croft16

Lichen the stone..

It's Sunday. I don't work on the croft on a Sunday. Not because I have any faith, but I think the body needs a day off at least once a week.

So, for a change, I've been working in the garden! I planted some Lollo Rosso lettuce in a tray. I've pottered in the poly-tunnel. I've emptied and tidied pots of plants that didn't survive the winter. I planted some salad plants in the greenhouse. I've weeded some of the raised beds, and moved and sieved the remains of a turf stack, refilling the raised beds (the wind tends to empty them through the winter..). Things are looking a lot tidier.

I've been growing bedding plants to sell at NW Sutherland Food Links seedling Sunday sale, due to take place next Sunday. But due to people being unsuccessful raising plants this year, the organisers have realised they won't have enough plants to hold the event. I'm left with trays of plants to sell myself.. See what I can do, a local hotel has enquired about bedding plants already..

Been a lovely day today, over 20 units on the solar panels again, sunny, warm, but there's still snow visible on the mountains..

Blip of lichen covered rocks, and stonecrop plants, a few grasses, and bone (?).. Don't know what it was from, can only guess a seagull (we don't have rabbits in Scourie)..

music. I'd like to say this was the first band I saw play live, but they were the headline band, first band I saw live was Queen, supporting these guys..!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.