Red, White and I’m Blue

The scale of public celebrations for the Coronation are much more muted here. I did however spot this nearby on my morning walk. But the mist and cool air did not augur well. I suspect many will have watched the service and the crowning.

Having only seen snippets of the 1953 coronation on television I had not appreciated what a full scale service it was. I really enjoyed the music and the moment when the King in plain shirt went to be anointed with holy oil, to the backdrop of Zadok the Priest, conveyed for me the history behind the ceremony.

My morning walk was due to the toothache I mentioned on Thursday really flaring up on Friday evening to the point where, despite painkillers, I was sitting in pain. My morning trip was to get something stronger which fortunately allowed me, for a while, to sit in less discomfort and watch the proceedings.

However the effect has worn off before I’m allowed the next dose. Hence the “blue”. When I walked the dog briefly this afternoon there were a dozen or so brave souls out but the downpour may have curtailed their festivities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.