Lost in Melbourne

By MaxwellDoan

ALLEYS

Alleys have always looked cool to me as I used to live in a place filled with alleys because the population density is alarming but most of us lived in a collective quarter or a small house in an alley. Growing up in an alley, I got used to the claustrophobic space but then we moved up the ladder, from being a poor family to being a middle-class one, we started living in an apartment building when I was 8 and then it changed me, I didn't want to go back anymore, I enjoyed the new space and got used to living like that, a bit upper-class mentality got to me as I started to disapprove living in a small space like that.
In high school, a trend made a comeback that altered my taste again. It brought back everything from my childhood, every nostalgic thing was brought back and labeled as "indie" and me growing up in a pretty "indie" place, got hooked on that trend pretty quickly. I went to cafes in alleys, go shot photos in alleys, parties in alleys, classes were held in alleys, and everything was in alleys, the narrow space became popular again and I loved every part of it.

Then I moved to Melbourne, every alley here looked like there was a junkie hiding waiting for me to walk by to jump on me and shiv me and take all my money or something. Every alley in the city looked suspicious and I kinda stopped going inside alleys again because now I'm genuinely afraid of dying to a random hobo on the streets. 

Alleys
Lovely aren't they
The beauty symmetry of it
It's like stepping into the abyss

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.