Living the dream day 3

We’ve had another wonderful day which started cloudy so Roger was eager to get going with a walk from the house to what looked like a distant col.
He said it wouldn’t take long so we didn’t take lunch. In fact we got back at 2.45. It was a longer walk than he’d remembered!

He’d warned us it was a steep walk, some of it on a narrow road to a huge property with security cameras and jaggy fences and walls belonging to a Russian. Big dogs barked as we went past. After that it was a track which zigzagged up the mountain steeply but I managed. Eventually we got to a narrow rocky path where Roger went ahead to route-find then we got to the col, not without a bit of harrumphing as I tried to lift my knees up the steep rocks. Further on the path was steep with little slippy stones which was unpleasant on the way down as there were some precipitous drops. We made it to the col but the trees obscured the view to the sea. However we could see right down to Fornalux and the peak above we’d done on Friday. I found a banana in my rucksack left from Friday which helped me get down the knee-bothering bits then it was straightforward and quick. We did 6 miles and ascent of 1500ft.

We had a quick sandwich for a late lunch and as the sun was out we sat on one of the terraces. The others had a doze so I went up to the pool and read my book away from the snoring. Now and again, when I got hot, I had a swim and before I knew it, it was 6.45 so I went for a shower. The blip is the view to the mountains from the pool.

Carol called to say she was doing G&T on the evening sun terrace. Living the dream or what. But I decided I’d better get into the kitchen and make supper. We had farfalle with onion, pancetta, peas, asparagus and Parmesan and a salad. It was a lovely evening with them telling us about their trekking trips after Roger retired from his lucrative banking career. It’s a different style of travel from ours with private guides etc so really fascinating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.