Uncertain Emotions

By meltingman

Audience

Day 2 on t'boat and another gorgeous, sunny day. Due to comedy tan (see yesterday), H1 and I had to resort to hiding under long-sleeved tops.

Another fairly long day today, setting off by 07:15 but we were moored up by 18:00.

We'd planned to have lunch at a canal-side pub but arrived to see a sea of sunburned people covering all available bits of space on both sides of the canal, watching a duck race. So, we stopped just long enough for a rather fine pint of Pedigree before having lunch on board.

There was also Heartbreak Hill (a series of 28 locks) to work up an appetite for dinner.

I brought the boat up in the last lock of the day and was disconcerted when the boat rose enough for me to see over the side of the lock, only to be greeted with a beer garden full of onlookers. Thankfully, I drove out of the lock fine - however anyone still looking a few mins later would have seen me completely cock-up mooring the boat...

H1 and I then partook of wine in the sunshine on the tow path before the three of us went for a lovely meal in the pub (steak and ale pie, chips :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.