shadow flickering catch


(slow day - last evening i went with friend Zev to a fundraiser, his dear Robin had to cancel with a horrid cold - i met him at their condo, and we walked perhaps ten blocks together to the event - for Seattle people the Paramount - and it was lovely event, the program is called Path with Art which has a made a humongous difference in the lives of people who have suffered from poverty, alcohol, drugs, homeless - so many lives turned around and their participation in the many free art classes, truly a big part of their moving forward, feeling valued and all of that. 


Well, why i am describing all this as you all know I rarely do this.  Zev and I left at about 8 PM and it was light, to head up the hill to their home, and had gone about four blocks when suddenly this man in his 40's I think, dressed in something like khakis and white t-shirt, pushing a grocery cart, lunged at Zev and hit Zev's face with his fist.  And it continued with Zev going after him, must have been 6 hits mostly the crazy guy to Zev, me calling out we need to run - the guy finally took off.  Zev never hit the ground, his mouth was bleeding, no teeth knocked out, both of us kind of shaky.  A police officer drove by when we were a block away, we flagged him down and made a report.


I am one of those people who knows random violence happens, but never to me, or around me.  I have had now I know, an illusion of safety.  It truly is random and does happen to anyone, even an 80 year old man with white hair wearing a ball cap and dressed just casually.  With me, not that age but pretty light hair too.  Crazy guy never lunged at me - are women safer?  


Sobering - took it easy today)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.