fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Downtime

This unglamorous little setting is where I go to record my Electronic Ears radio show (which goes out from 8pm to 10pm on Sunday evenings. Tune in!).

I spend odd moments during the week, working on the playlist. Sometimes I can't think of anything to play and then I'll come across a song on my iPod that I love and that will make me think of others and so organically the list of sings grows and mutates over the week.

Plus, doing the radio show has inspired me to go out to buy and listen to new music and to get recommendations from other people, which has been fantastic. It had been getting me down that I was always listening to the same albums that I'd had for years.

It takes me an hour or so to prepare for the show and then two hours to record it. All in all it's a big chunk out of my spare time at the weekend and when I have so much else on - six children, chores, running/swimming etc - sometimes it seems a bit insane. And yet...

When everything else is so busy, it's lovely to have that chunk of time that is 100% for me, doing something I love and enjoy. It gives me a sense of accomplishment every week and I am hugely grateful to my small band of listeners for making it a 'proper' radio show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.