analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

New Smoke. Lumix M4/3 14mm

Some weeks ago, my Editor and I went to a restaurant which served smoked carrots as a side dish.  At first glance on the menu, the idea seemed pretty out there, but we ordered it anyway.  It turned out to be a spectacular taste experience, and I vowed that as soon as smoking season began, I would try to emulate the dish.  Today was the day: perfect weather, and a long weekend to boot.  I tossed the carrots in boiling water for a couple of minutes, and then into a mixture of chopped ginger, sesame seed oil and soy sauce to marinate for a while. Since I was going to get all smoky and sooty anyway, it made sense to marinate some chicken thighs in yogurt and get a couple of meals out of it.  Here's the result, ready to hit the table.
There is something utterly languorous about sitting outside on a beautiful day, nowhere to have to be, and watching a tendril of smoke rise lazily from the chimney: the very essence of summer.  It made me reach for the camera.  Here it is in the Extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.