analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

The Bonsai Forest. Leitz Summicron 50mm DR

I have been planning this Blipidition for a long time.  Today, the stars aligned to make it happen.  It's a heavily overcast day with a gentle, yet persistent drizzle yielding very flat and even light which seems to make colors more vibrant. 
One of my favorite places in Boston is the Harvard University Arnold Arboretum, 265-odd acres of trees. The core of their Bonsai collection was bequeathed in 1937 by Isabel Anderson, widow of Lars Anderson - acting U.S. Ambassador to Japan during the teens of last century -.  We met him here previously.  Along with the magnificent collection, were the funds to build a pavilion for their display. 
I spent about an hour with the trees today, poking my camera through the slats, and came away with a fair number of images.  Then it was a matter of whittling it down.  I chose the Main because I liked the balance of the picture best, a Japanese White Pine.  Then there are the Extras:
1. How could I not include a portrait of the Hinoki Cypress, which started its bonsai life in 1802?!  It was already 110 years old when Lars Anderson added it to his collection.  The door latches peeping from between the miniature boughs give some sense of its size.  My hat is off to the skill and care of the arborists who tend these lovely old trees daily.
2.  The leaves of a miniature ginko tree covered in tiny water droplets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.