Lost in Melbourne

By MaxwellDoan

A Wanderer

Quyen is one of my co-workers. The first time I saw him he reminded me of the street gangster I used to see a lot in Vietnam due to the arrogant, hype beast look he had. He always had a complaint about something but I always knew it was sarcasm. Whenever he helped me out in the kitchen he would sarcastically tell me that “The youngs have it easy” and I thought that was so funny. 

We always had the same shift and went home together and he would tell me his story. Quyen is studying and funding his own study in Melbourne. He must work to pay off his rent while paying tuition with a student loan. He’s the first guy I’ve met with an American-like life like having student loans, being kicked out of the house, all that stuff and he told me about injuries in the kitchen, how a pile of pots fell on his head and he woke up bleeding. But he still came to work, showed me around with everything, teaching me how to run a kitchen and I really respect him for that. 
A hard worker and a lovely soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.