Greywacke

I have liked a Sauvignon Blanc wine ever since I first came across a Sancerre many, many years ago when we stayed in a French village close by. Then our visits to New Zealand showed me how they could make a SB as well. Now I just get whatever NZ SB is on special offer at Majestic, although a friend of our daughter in Newlyn, who runs the wine bar down the road from their house in Cornwall, always finds me a gem of a SB wine when we are visiting - and I sometimes get a lovely bottle for my birthday.

Then I discovered Greywacke. I found it on the menu when we went to the wonderful Waterside restaurant in Shipley, when we were staying in Saltaire. I just had a glass and really liked it.

Amazingly Majestic stock it and so I get a bottle every now and then (it’s more than I would usually pay for a bottle of wine!). Today we are celebrating eating outside day after day . . . just like being in France.

It was only recently that I found out that Greywacke is a kind of sandstone, prevalent in New Zealand. I was told a lot more about it . . . . . . . . . I just had another sip of this delicious wine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.