A Sunday in Stromness

There might not have been wall to wall sunshine in Orkney today, but the cloud lifted a little in the afternoon for a hint of sunshine to brighten the spirits and there was a calm sea with no wind.
The Selkies were swimming at 9am and 9:30 am and I went along to the slip with the second wave of swimmers. I think there might have been about 20 ladies bobbing about in the sea- competition for the Porty Blue Tits! It was lovely to be back swimming with these friendly people.

No Sunday Söderberg coffee with the Merry Widows was a big miss but I did have a coffee at Julia’s Shed where you sit outside- a risky business in Orkney but today it was mild so no shivers.

I walked round the back of Stromness after lunch and stopped a horse rider who turned out NOT to be the blipper HappyValley which was a little embarrassing, but she took it in good humour.

There was a reading in the garden session later which was an added bonus as it was really warm in the absence of the wind.
Finally a glass of wine with the friend who stayed with me last month and I’m officially exhausted……..and I’ve to do most of it again tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.